From the Worldwide Faith News archives

ELCA Seminaries Plan Commencements

Date 07 May 1996 11:46:17


May 7, 1996


The eight seminaries of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in
America are planning commencement ceremonies in May and June
for 1996 degree recipients:


10   Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary, Columbia, S.C.
     Speaker:  President H. Frederick Reisz, Jr.
     Place:  Ebenezer Lutheran Church, Columbia

17   Lutheran Theological Seminary at Gettysburg, Pa.
     Speaker: President Darold H. Beekmann
     Place: Church of the Abiding Presence

19   Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia
     Speaker: The Rev. Ishmael Noko, general secretary, Lutheran
     World Federation, Geneva
     Place: Chestnut Hill Presbyterian Church, Philadelphia

19   Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary, Berkeley, Calif.
     Speaker: Dr. Diane Jacobson, Professor of Old Testament,
     Luther Seminary, St. Paul, Minn.
     Place:  Chapel of the Cross (PLTS campus)

19   Wartburg Theological Seminary, Dubuque, Iowa
     Speaker: Dr. William H. Weiblen, Professor Emeritus,
     Systematic Theology; President Emeritus, Wartburg
     Theological Seminary
     Place: Loehe Chapel

21   Lutheran Seminary Program in the Southwest, Austin, Texas
     Speaker: Dr. Garrett Lloyd Jones, sub-dean of the School of
     Theology at the University of North Wales
     Place: (Episcopal) Church of the Good Shepherd, Austin,
LSPS is an extension of Wartburg Theological Seminary and the
Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago and is located on the
campus of the Episcopal Theological Seminary of the Southwest
(ETSS).  Commencement activities are conducted jointly with ETSS.

26   Luther Seminary, St. Paul, Minn.
     Speaker: Dr. Paul J. Dovre, President, Concordia College, Moorehead, Minnesota
     Place: Central Lutheran Church, Minneapolis


1    Trinity Lutheran Seminary, Columbus, Ohio
     Speaker: Bishop April Ulring Larson, LaCrosse (Wis.) Area
     Place: Mees Hall, Capital University, Columbus, Ohio

2    Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago
     Speaker: The Rev. Craig J. Lewis, vice president, South
     Shore Bank, Chicago
     Place: St. Thomas the Apostle Church (Hyde Park), Chicago

For information contact: Ann Hafften, Dir., ELCA News Service,
(312) 380-2958; Frank Imhoff, Assoc. Dir., (312) 380-2955; Lia
Christiansen, Asst. Dir., (312) 380-2956

Browse month . . . Browse month (sort by Source) . . . Advanced Search & Browse . . . WFN Home