From the Worldwide Faith News archives

LERN Officers Elected

Date 21 May 1996 13:01:32

News from the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

May 21, 1996


The Lutheran Ecumenical Representatives Network
(LERN) held its annual meeting May 6-8 during the 1996
National Workshop on Christian Unity in Richmond, Va.
Each of the 65 synod bishops of the Evangelical Lutheran
Church in America appoints one LERN member.  They
elected board members, and the board elected the
organization's officers.  The current slate of officers was
re-elected to two-year terms and will not be eligible for
election to those offices in 1998.  The Rev. Thomas A.
Prinz, Nativity Lutheran Church, Alexandria, Va., was
re-elected president; the Rev. Robert O. Kriesat, Gloria
Dei Lutheran Church, Chatham, N.J., vice president; and
the Rev. John A. Clausen, First Lutheran Church, Tiffin,
Ohio, secretary.  LERN members from two regions
re-elected board members to two-year terms.  The Rev.
William J. Sappenfield, Joy Lutheran Church, Tulsa,
Okla., represents the South-Central United States; and the
Rev. Conrad J. Christianson Jr., Bethel Lutheran Church,
Winchester, Va., represents the Southeastern United
States and Caribbean.  About 60 Lutherans were among
the more than 400 attending the National Workshop on
Christian Unity.  The next workshop will be April 21-24,
1997, in Sacramento, Calif.  The 1998 event will be held
in Minneapolis.

[ELCA News and Information: 9876 W. Higgins Road,
Chicago, IL   60631; phone 312/380-2958]

Browse month . . . Browse month (sort by Source) . . . Advanced Search & Browse . . . WFN Home