From the Worldwide Faith News archives

ELCA Awards Study Grants to ELCA College Faculty, Staff

From News News <NEWS@ELCA.ORG>
Date Fri, 7 Jun 2002 15:18:30 -0500


June 7, 2002


  CHICAGO (ELCA) -- The Division for Higher Education and Schools
(DHES) of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) announced it
has awarded grants totaling $42,725 to 36 faculty and staff representing
most of the 28 ELCA colleges and universities.
  The DHES study grants support continuing education efforts of ELCA
college and university faculty, administration and staff.  Most grants
are given to those pursuing a terminal degree.
  DHES funded 80 percent of the awards -- a total of $34,180 -- and
the recipient institutions support the remaining 20 percent.  Most
recipients are awarded grants of $1,200, the maximum level.
  "The mission of the Division for Higher Education and Schools is
to provide leadership in defining, supporting and advocating for the
interactive ministry of the church in education and education in the
church," said Dr. Leonard G. Schulze, DHES executive director.
  "The annual study grants program is one of the ways DHES lives out
this mission. We are pleased to be part of this cooperative effort with
the colleges and universities to affirm and encourage excellence among
faculty and staff," he said.
  There were 67 qualified applicants for this year's program, almost
double the applications for the 2001 program, said Sue Edison-Swift,
DHES assistant director for colleges and universities.  An effort is
underway to better define the program so that the number of applications
is closer to the number of possible awards, she said.
  The 2002 recipients and the ELCA colleges and universities that
employ them are:
  + Peggy Barnes, Newberry College, Newberry, S.C.
  + Elaine Benditson, California Lutheran University, Thousand Oaks,
  + Nancy Biggins, Thiel College, Greenville, Pa.
  + Robert Bishop, Finlandia University, Hancock, Mich.
  + The Rev. Ramona Bouzard, Wartburg College, Waverly, Iowa
  + Ann Marie Brill, Augustana College, Rock Island, Ill.
  + Joseph Brown, Muhlenberg College, Allentown, Pa.
  + Christine Casson, Carthage College, Kenosha, Wis.
  + Brian Chisom, Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
  + Guy Dierikx, Augustana College, Rock Island
  + Laura Friesenborg, Waldorf College, Forest City, Iowa
  + Pam George, Pacific Lutheran University, Tacoma, Wash.
  + Kathryn Gray, Thiel College
  + Panduleini Hailonga, Augsburg College, Minneapolis
  + M. Louise Hay, Grand View College, Des Moines, Iowa
  + Merrie Sue Holtan, Concordia College, Moorhead, Minn.
  + Mary Jacobson, Augsburg College
  + Michele Koomen, Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, Minn.
  + Benjamin Larson, Finlandia University
  + Mary Larson, Concordia College
  + Daniel Mahraun, Bethany College, Lindsborg, Kan.
  + Spencer Martin, Luther College, Decorah, Iowa
  + Diane McCarty, Wartburg College
  + Michael McGee, Lenoir-Rhyne College, Hickory, N.C.
  + Lynette McGregor, Wartburg College
  + Teresa Mount, Roanoke College
  + Christopher Nigrelli, Lenoir-Rhyne College
  + Carolyn Pauling, Grand View College
  + LaRue Pierce, St. Olaf College, Northfield, Minn.
  + The Rev. Mark Radecke, Susquehanna University, Selinsgrove, Pa.
  + Mark Spraggins, California Lutheran University
  + Jeanette Van Liew, Grand View College
  + Bonita Vinson, Texas Lutheran University, Seguin, Texas
  + Sylvia Wood, Pacific Lutheran University
  + John Young, Wittenberg University, Springfield, Ohio
  + Barbara Zust, Gustavus Adolphus College
-- -- --
  Information about the ELCA Division for Higher Education and
Schools, including the 28 ELCA colleges and universities can be found at on the ELCA's Web site.

  Editors: All names are spelled correctly.

For information contact:
John Brooks, Director (773) 380-2958 or NEWS@ELCA.ORG

Browse month . . . Browse month (sort by Source) . . . Advanced Search & Browse . . . WFN Home