From the Worldwide Faith News archives

Twenty-three Lutherans in the 108TH Congress

From Worldwide Faith News <>
Date Sun, 15 Dec 2002 13:36:52 -0800


December 13, 2002


      CHICAGO (ELCA) -- There are 23 Lutherans -- 12 Democrats and 11
Republicans -- in the 108th Congress of the United States, according to
the Lutheran Office for Governmental Affairs (LOGA), Washington, D.C.,
the federal public policy advocacy office of the Evangelical Lutheran
Church in America (ELCA).  LOGA is a program of the ELCA Division for
Church in Society.
      Ten of the 19 Lutherans in the U.S. House are Republicans; nine
are Democrats.	Three of the four Lutherans in the U.S. Senate are
Democrats; one is a Republican.
      The four Lutherans in the U.S. Senate are Conrad Burns (R-Mont.),
Byron L. Dorgan (D-N.D.), Ernest F. "Fritz" Hollings (D-S.C.) and Tim
Johnson (D-S.D.).
      The 19 Lutherans in the U.S. House of Representatives are Douglas
K. Bereuter (R-Neb. 1st), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio 13th), Lois Capps
(D-Calif. 23rd), John R. Carter (R-Texas 31st), Norman D. Dicks (D-Wash.
6th), Darlene Hooley (D-Ore. 5th), William J. Janklow (R-S.D. at large),
Ron Kind (D-Wis. 3rd), Tom Latham (R-Iowa 5th), Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.
16th), Jim Nussle (R-Iowa 2nd), Doug Ose (R-Calif. 3rd), Michael Oxley
(R-Ohio 4th), Collin C. Peterson (D-Minn. 7th), Thomas E. Petri (R-Wis.
6th), Martin Olav Sabo (D-Minn. 5th), John M. Shimkus (R-Ill. 19th), Bill
Shuster (R-Pa. 9th) and Charles W. Stenholm (D-Texas 17th).
      All are members of the ELCA, except Bereuter and Shimkus who are
members of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod, and Kind who is a member
of the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod.
      Twenty Lutherans in Congress were identified at the beginning of
its 107th term. U.S. Rep. Floyd D. Spence (R-S.C. 2nd) died in August
2001.  Senators Burns and Johnson and all other representatives won re-
election in November balloting.  Representatives Capps and Shimkus were
elected to renumbered districts.
      Four Lutherans new to LOGA's list are Representatives Carter,
Janklow, Lofgren and Shuster.  Carter and Janklow are new members of the
House.	Carter retired from the bench after serving 20 years as a
district judge in Williamson County, Texas.  Janklow served four terms
as governor of South Dakota.  Lofgren was first elected to the House in
1994.  Shuster was first elected to Congress in May 2001 in a special
-- -- --
      The home page of the Lutheran Office for Governmental Affairs is
at on the Web.

For information contact:
John Brooks, Director (773) 380-2958 or NEWS@ELCA.ORG 

Browse month . . . Browse month (sort by Source) . . . Advanced Search & Browse . . . WFN Home