From the Worldwide Faith News archives

ELCA Council Elects Advisory Committee Members

Date Mon, 11 Aug 2003 16:44:09 -0500


August 11, 2003

ELCA Council Elects Advisory Committee Members

     MILWAUKEE (ELCA) -- The church council of the Evangelical
Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) elected three people to the
advisory committee for "The Lutheran," the magazine of the ELCA.
     Council members elected the three Aug. 10, in their meeting
preceding the ELCA Churchwide Assembly, Aug. 11-17.
     Elected to six-year terms were:
     +The Rev. Marguerite M. Rourk, pastor, Christ Lutheran
Church, Fairfax, Va., was elected to succeed the Rev. Kenneth E.
Roberts, Columbus, Ohio.
     +Carol A. McDivitt, King of Glory Lutheran Church, Loveland,
Colo., was elected to succeed Judith M. Dubbenbaum, Fort Collins,
     +David Mowitz, St. John Lutheran Church, Des Moines, Iowa,
was elected to succeed Herbert Strentz, Des Moines, Iowa.
     The ELCA Church Council is the interim legislative authority
of the church between biennial churchwide assemblies.

*Jessica A. Crane is completing her bachelor of arts degree at
Concordia College, Moorhead, Minn.  She is an intern this summer
for ELCA News and Media Production.

For information contact:
John Brooks, Director (773) 380-2958 or

Browse month . . . Browse month (sort by Source) . . . Advanced Search & Browse . . . WFN Home