From the Worldwide Faith News archives

Two dozen nominated for United Methodist Judicial Council

From "NewsDesk" <NewsDesk@UMCOM.ORG>
Date Thu, 29 Apr 2004 16:57:28 -0500

April 29, 2004	GC04-019

By Neill Caldwell*

PITTSBURGH (UMNS)--Delegates to the 2004 General Conference will choose from
24 nominees for four openings on the Judicial Council, the United Methodist
Church's supreme court.

Nominations made by the denomination's Council of Bishops were presented to
delegates in the April 29 Daily Christian Advocate, and additional
nominations were accepted from the floor during the morning's plenary

In an unusual parliamentary move, nominations were first closed and then
voted to be reopened when a delegate rose to complain that presiding Bishop
Joel Martinez had not called on people from all parts of the floor.

Voting on the nominations is scheduled for May 3 after brief biographical
sketches of each candidate are printed in the Daily Christian Advocate, the
General Conference's publication of record.

Two clergy and two laity will be elected to the nine-member council, the
highest judicial body of the church. The usual term of office is eight years.

Nominees and their annual conferences are listed below.

Clergy nominated by the Council of Bishops are: 
 * P. Edwin Gausi, Liberia;
 * Daniel F. Evans, South Indiana;
 * Beth Capen, New York;
 * Jon Gray of Missouri;
 * W. Clark Williams, Virginia; and
 * Lonnie Brooks, Alaska Missionary.

Laity nominated by the Council of Bishops are: 
7	John E. Harnish, Detroit;
7	Rodney Wilmouth, Minnesota;
7	Robert Sweet Jr., New England;
7	Rex Bevins, Nebraska; 
7	Susan Henry-Crowe, South Carolina; and 
7	Jane Tews of Desert Southwest.

Clergy nominated from the floor are:
7	Dennis L. Blackwell, Greater New Jersey;
7	Daniel A. Ivy-Soto, New Mexico;
7	Kurt Glassco, Oklahoma;
7	Rodney G. Steele, Arkansas;
7	Shamange Kyungu, North West Katanga; and 
7	Frank Trotter Jr., Baltimore-Washington.

Laity nominated from the floor are: 
7	David Beckley, Mississippi;
7	Gloria Brooks, West Ohio;
7	Solomon Christian, Memphis;
7	Raymond L. Hamill, Wyoming;
7	Amy Valdez Barker, Wisconsin; and
7	Raymundo Z. Annang, Middle Philippines.

# # #

*Caldwell is a correspondent for United Methodist News Service.

News media contact: (412) 325-6080 during General Conference, April 27-May 7.
After May 10: (615) 742-5470. 


United Methodist News Service
Photos and stories also available at:

Browse month . . . Browse month (sort by Source) . . . Advanced Search & Browse . . . WFN Home