From the Worldwide Faith News archives

Seventeen nominated for four positions on the University Senate

From "NewsDesk" <NewsDesk@UMCOM.ORG>
Date Fri, 30 Apr 2004 14:00:51 -0500

April 29, 2004		GC04-022

By Kathy L. Gilbert*

PITTSBURGH (UMNS)-General Conference delegates nominated 17 people to serve
four positions on the University Senate, a body of professionals in higher
education that determines which academic institutions meet the criteria to be
affiliated with the United Methodist Church.

The 17, each with ties to academia, were nominated for the 25-member
University Senate. General Conference will elect two persons who are chief
executive officers of United Methodist higher education institutions and two
persons holding positions relevant to academic or financial affairs or church

The remaining 21 members of the senate are selected by other groups: nine by
the National Association of Schools and Colleges of the United Methodist
Church, four by the United Methodist General Board of Higher Education and
Ministry, four by the Council of Bishops, and four by the senate itself.

The senate was established by the Methodist General Conference of 1892 and is
an affiliate of the Board of Higher Education and Ministry. It monitors,
evaluates and approves the 123 colleges, universities, preparatory and
theological schools related to the denomination. Most of the senate's members
are professional educators and administrators at United Methodist educational

Sixteen persons to be elected by delegates to General Conference were
nominated by the denomination's Council of Bishops. One person was nominated
from the floor. Brief biographical sketches of each candidate will be printed
in the Daily Christian Advocate, prior to voting. 

Chief executive officers nominated by the Council of Bishops for the two
positions on the University Senate are:

Henry Tisdale, president, Claflin University, Orangeburg, S.C., Southeastern
Jurisdiction; Rukudzo Murapa, Africa University, Mutare, Zimbabwe, Central
Conferences; William Johnston, Iowa Wesleyan College, Mount Pleasant, Iowa,
North Central Jurisdiction; James E. Douthat, Lycoming College, Williamsport,
Pa., Northeastern Jurisdiction; Mariann Inman, Central Methodist College,
Fayette, Mo., South Central Jurisdiction; Socorro de Anda, Lydia Patterson
Institute, El Paso, Texas, South Central Jurisdiction; David A. Palmer,
Andrew College, Cuthbert, Ga., Southeastern Jurisdiction; and David
Maldonado, Iliff School of Theology, Western Jurisdiction..

Persons nominated for the two at-large positions on the University Senate
Bishop Kenneth Carder, Duke University, Durham, N.C., Southeastern
Jurisdiction; Traci West, Drew University, Madison, N.J., Northeastern
Jurisdiction; Maggie Jackson, Cleveland State University, Cleveland, North
Central Jurisdiction; Maxine Clarke Beach, The Theological School, Drew
University, Madison, N.J., Northeastern Jurisdiction; J. Timothy Cloyd,
Hendrix College, Conway, Ark., South Central Jurisdiction; L. Gregory Jones,
the Divinity School, Duke University, Durham, N.C., Southeastern
Jurisdiction; Philip A. Amerson, Claremont School of Theology, Claremont,
Calif., Western Jurisdiction; and David Pascua, Union Theological Seminary,
Manila, Philippines, Central Conferences.

Rebekah L. Miles, Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University,
South Central Jurisdiction, was nominated from the floor as a candidate for
an at-large position on the senate.

 # # # 

*Gilbert is a United Methodist News Service news writer.

News media contact: (412) 325-6080 during General Conference, April 27-May 7.
After May 10: (615) 742-5470. 


United Methodist News Service
Photos and stories also available at:

Browse month . . . Browse month (sort by Source) . . . Advanced Search & Browse . . . WFN Home